Erinn Batykefer, MLIS

An online professional portfolio

What to read after… The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

Click to visit the "If You Loved the Mortal Instruments" readers' advisory pinboard

 

I loved the first three Mortal Instruments novels: City of Bones, City of Ashes, and City of Glass.

To me, this series was a perfect blend of things I value highly in teen fantasy fiction: the plot wraps up in a deeply satisfying manner reminiscent of Harry Potter; the acerbic wit of the dialogue recalls Buffy the Vampire Slayer; and the mythology of the Nephilim creates one richest, most complex, and believable parallel worlds I’ve read in fantasy fiction in a long time.  The characters are fascinatingly damaged, at turns hilarious, suicidally brave, and, in classic teenaged fashion, rebellious at just the right time for a plot twist.

I was very surprised and a little disappointed when the announcement for City of Fallen Angels–the fourth of six planned MI novels– was released; it seemed clear to me that the series had wrapped up, and that the continuation was a way to cash in on the massive popularity of the original trilogy.  I was not surprised to find that CoFA felt forced when I read it, and that a lot of the ‘plot’ was set-up for the coming novels.

Oh, of course, I’ll keep reading them, but the series has lost some of its original luster for me, alas. I imagine others feel the same, so I compiled a Pinterest pinboard to organize read-alikes that share some of the best parts of that original Mortal Instruments reading experience.

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2012 by in Reader's Advisory and tagged , , , .
