Erinn Batykefer, MLIS

An online professional portfolio

YA Lit for Adults

Young Adult Literature has a ton of appeal for adults (no matter what Joel Stein has to say on the matter). At Monona Public Library, where I did a summer … Continue reading

May 3, 2012 · Leave a comment

YA Steampunk & Neo-Victorian Booklists

My YA Steampunk Reads Pinterest board is a growing resource, with new pins added regularly to showcase Steampunk books, movies, websites, and videos. Click here to access a PDF version … Continue reading

May 3, 2012 · Leave a comment

GUYS READ

Our mission is to motivate boys to read by connecting them with materials they will want to read, in ways they like to read. GUYS READ is a fantastic site … Continue reading

May 2, 2012 · Leave a comment

What to read after…the Twilight Saga

Finding read-alikes for Twilight is something of a hard case.  It was a phenomenon– everyone read it, including people who don’t normally read “paranormal romance,” teen lit, or anything having … Continue reading

April 27, 2012 · Leave a comment

War and WWII Books for Teens

Reading a historical fiction title can be a great way for students to learn about a time period or a historical conflict, because they can see it through the eyes … Continue reading

April 26, 2012 · Leave a comment

What to read after… The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Chances are, with the Hunger Games movie in theaters, you have a horde of teens (and everyone else!) asking to read the books, and then looking for something new and … Continue reading

April 25, 2012 · Leave a comment

What to read after… The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

  I loved the first three Mortal Instruments novels: City of Bones, City of Ashes, and City of Glass. To me, this series was a perfect blend of things I … Continue reading

April 23, 2012 · Leave a comment